B-Bye Office Job

job_out

There’s been a pattern with me concerning jobs for as long as I can remember. I’m a three-year max worker. When I hit that three-year mark something happens. Either the company starts to make changes (like, I don’t know, tossing their unlimited FTO policy that just went in place last year, but only for my department) and everything that was free and fun suddenly disappears, or I start getting antsy and simply need to move on. It’s like the Universe starts pushing me to make a hasty exit. In January, I hit three years at my current job and I am just not happy there anymore. So, as The Brady Bunch once sang, “When it’s time to change you’ve got to rearrange, who you are into what you’re gonna be. I gave my notice this week.

The question is, what will I do to make money and where will I do it? Working at yet another corporate office is not an option for me. I’m 47 years old and I am officially done with that scene. I believe the only option is to work from home and possibly work for myself doing who knows what. I am a professional editor with a degree in English, so that’s something to consider. Maybe walk dogs or teach yoga or sell stuff on Etsy. I have no idea. But figuring it out will be part of the process as I transition from corporate drone to at-home cat mom and boss lady.

I want to be a good human and be happy doing whatever I do. For me, that means removing myself from my current situation, taking a sabbatical, and manifesting joy. The way I see it we should spend our days doing things we enjoy. Why waste days, years, a lifetime with people and situations we just don’t like?

Leave a Reply

