Minimalism is a Daily Choice

10-rules-of-minimalist-design-less-is-moreRecently, a friend sent me an article about “Project 333“, a “minimalist fashion challenge that invites you to dress with 33 items or less for 3 months.” The more I read about it, the more intrigued with minimalism I became. Minimalism doesn’t mean you don’t own stuff or you only have 33 items of clothing. It’s basically just the scaling down of stuff in your life until you own them and they don’t own you.  Minimalism is freedom. And there is nothing I love more than freedom. ‘murica!

Since my goal is to be a Free Spirit (see my previous article), I thought this minimalism concept would be a wonderful compliment to the process. I began researching the subject and found these guys, The Minimalists. They have lots of articles and podcasts on their website about minimalism. As fate would have it, around the same time as I discovered their site, their film, Minimalism: A Documentary, came in the mail from Netflix (NOT a coincidence) and really revved up my interest. I highly recommend the movie if you’re even a little curious about the subject.

My first step toward minimalism has been to go through my closet and other possessions and get rid of what I don’t need, haven’t used in a year, or just basically anything I look at that makes me go “meh.” The result? Five garbage bags filled with clothes and shoes. My husband loved the idea and filled a garbage bag with just socks! We will both continue to whittle down our wardrobes until we only have what we need.

The next step is to stop buying what we don’t need. This may seem easy, but it’s more difficult than I thought. What has helped is, before purchasing anything, I ask myself “Do I really need this?” The answer is usually no, so I simply don’t buy it. Also calculating how much time I have to work to make the money to buy the thing is another deterrent. If it takes me working an entire day to afford a pair of shoes, chances are I’m not buying them (unless they are too fabulous, then they’re mine).

Minimalism is not only about stuff. It’s also about how you spend your time, your work, basically it’s about your life. This will be an ever-evolving process, so more to come on this subject in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

